Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register with SAACI
Share |

Each year we award deserving members for specific achievements in various categories for dedicated service to our Association and the Business Events Industry at large. 

These awards include:

   The Fellowship Award
   The Young Achiever Award
   Branch of the Year Award
   The Godfrey King long service Award
   The Members Choice Awards

                      Best Conference and Events Organizer
                      Best Conference and Events Venue
                      Best Conference and Events Service Supplier
                      Best Convention Bureau 

   Special recognition and hall of honour awards 

Award Criteria:

   All awards are open only to paid-up members.
   Previous recipients may not be nominated again for the same category.
   All nominations must be accompanied with a supporting motivational statement of not more than 300 words,                  outlining the reason for the nomination. Any further supporting documents may be submitted in addition to the
     motivational statement during interview processes that may be conducted.
   Regional or Branch winners’ details must be sent through to head office for adjudication of main awards.
   Entries will be judged by the respective core team i.e. branch committee members, board or head office.
•   All decisions will be final.
   All main award winners will be announced at the awards dinner at the congress.
   Members can only win an awards nationally once. 

The Fellowship Award:

   An acknowledgement of a minimum of 10 years’ service to SAACI
   A special and positive contribution to the development of SAACI through:

                      Service on the board either board director or advisory board
                      Service as chairperson, vice-chairperson or treasurer
                      Presents an extraordinary view of the value of being a member to the community at large,
                       to government and within the business events industry

This individual is:

   a role-model and mentor in the industry
   willing to assist young and newcomers
   an inspiration to colleagues in the industry  

The Young Achiever award

   An acknowledgement of a minimum of 3 years’ service to SAACI
   Between the ages of 25 – 35 years
   Motivated, energetic, involved and active member
   Presents an extraordinary view of the value of being a member to the community at large and within the business         events industry
   A special and positive contribution to the development of SAACI through service on a branch committee 

These awards are presented at branch level during the annual general meeting and is nominated by the committees in each branch. These winners are then eligible for the respective awards as the official recipient that will be announced during the awards dinner at the congress. 

The Branch of the year Award:

The sought-after Branch of the year awards was originally judged on membership growth and retention but additional criteria was added in 2014

Branches needs to:

·      Grow membership in terms of companies representatives
·      Advance forum representation
·      Grow networking events attendance by members
·      Retain existing membership
·      Bonus points

o   Board reports
o   Maintain a fully operational branch committee
o   Other Branch activities that supports the SAACI vision 

The Godfrey King long service Award

In recognition of an individual who have served SAACI in various ways on or off committees and is known as a stalwart in the Business Events Industry. All members are welcome to put their names or nominees forward for this award after being a SAACI members for more then 15 years. 

Members Choice Awards 

In 2014 the coveted Members Choice Awards were launched, these awards are voted by members for member. These awards are there to recognise company achievements in the Business Events Industry at large. 

Our previous Award winners: 

The Fellowship Award – The Republic of South Africa 

Winners 2014:           

  • Brian Prowling  

Other Branch Winners:          

  • Western Cape – Megan Arendse
  • Eastern Cape – Denise Kemp
  • KwaZulu-Natal – Kim Gibbens 

Previous Winners:

  • 2013    Chris Prieto & Carol Macnab
  • 2012    Glenn van Eck
  • 2011    Estelle Lötter
  • 2010    Frank Johnson
  • 2009    Gwyn Heaton
  • 2008    Peta Thomas
  • 2007    Nigel Walker
  • 2006    Koos Myburgh
  • 2005    Brian McDonald
  • 2004    Alec Gilbert
  • 2003    Isabella vd Merwe
  • 2002    Godfrey King
  • 2001    Keith Murcott
  • 2000    Naome Patrick
  • 1999    Dawn Holmwood 

The Young Achiever Award – The Republic of South Africa 

Winners 2014:

  • Kamile Padayachee  

Other Branch Winners:

  • Western Cape – Lerisha Mudaliar
  • Eastern Cape – Damien Anderson
  • Northern Territories – Yolande van den Berg 

Previous Winners

  • 2013    Kim Gibbens
  • 2012    Jacques Groenewald
  • 2011    Nonhlanhla Tshabalala  

Branch of the year Award:

  • 2014    KwaZulu-Natal 

Previous Winners:

  • 2013      Eastern Cape branch
  • 2012      Eastern Cape branch
  • 2011      Western Cape branch 

Members Choice Awards 

Best Conferencing and Events Organizer


  • Eastern Sun Events   


Other nominees:

  • Conference Consultancy SA
  • Conference Company
  • Events Dynamics
  • On Show 

Best Conference and Events Venue


 Other nominees:

  • Boardwalk Hotel and Convention Centre, Port Elizabeth
  • Durban International Convention Centre 

Best Conference and Events Service Supplier


 Other nominees

  • Compex
  • Magnetic Strom
  • ProsperIS 

Best Convention Bureau



 Other nominees

  • Durban and KwaZulu-Natal Convention Bureau 

The Personality of the Year Award was discontinued during 2014, we wish to still acknowledge these former winners for their dedication during the years:

  • 2013    Wayne Johnson 
  • 2012    Natalie Kensley & Lorin Bowen
  • 2011    Zelda Coetzee
  • 2010    Dawn Holmwood
  • 2009    Nigel Walker
  • 2008    Nina Freysen-Pretorius
  • 2007    Jeanette van Rensburg 
  • 2006    Carol Macnab
  • 2005    Craig Drysdale
  • 2004    Denise Kemp
  • 2003    Leora Berger
  • 2002    Brett Dungan
  • 2001    Janet Landey 
  • 2000    Alec Gilbert
  • 1999    Robin de Kock
  • 1997    Godfrey King